Pink and Masculinity

6

“Gaudete in Domino semper: iterum dico, gaudete. Modestia vestra nota sit omnibus hominibus: Dominus enim prope est. Nihil solliciti sitis: sed in omni oratione petitiones vestræ innotescant apud Deum. Benedixisti Domine terram tuam: avertisti captivitatem Jacob.”

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I say, rejoice. Let your forbearance be known to all, for the Lord is near at hand; have no anxiety about anything, but in all things, by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be known to God. Lord, you have blessed your land; you have turned away the captivity of Jacob.”

I remember back in 8th grade I borrowed my sister’s pink pencil since I didn’t have other pencils at the hand and I was bullied — by girls — for having a pink pencil. It’s kind of funny that guys wearing pink or using something are assumed to be gay or at least effeminate. In 19th century Victorian England it was common for boys to wear pink. In the traditional Latin Mass, a priest wears pink vestments on the Third Sunday of Advent (a.k.a. Gaudete Sunday) and Fourth Sunday of Lent (a.k.a. Laetare Sunday) as it is the liturgical color of those days since pink is the liturgical color of rejoicing (gaudere = to rejoice) (laetare = to rejoice). The leader of Giro d’Italia wears a pink sports shirt. I guess pink became affiliated with girls since it is a very bubbly color and usually girls have bubbly personalities (e.g. Pinkie Pie). I used to be afraid of the color pink, but after learning of these things, not anymore. I can’t say it’s my favorite color; I’m in between light blue, dark red and dark green.

“Laetare Jerusalem: et conventum facite omnes qui diligitis eam: gaudete cum laetitia, qui in tristitia fuistis: ut exsultetis,et satiemini ab uberibus consolationis vestrae. Psalm: Laetatus sum in his quae dicta sunt mihi: in domum Domini ibimus.”

“Rejoice, O Jerusalem: and come together all you that love her: rejoice with joy, you that have been in sorrow: that you may exult, and be filled from the breasts of your consolation. Psalm: I rejoiced when they said to me: “we shall go into God’s House!”

6

Leave a Reply

