In the Face of Persecution

Z10

The Kiss of Judas

I was debating a Protestant today and as typical he viciously attacked the Catholic Church based on straw man arguments.  What I didn’t expect would come next.  After debating him for a day now, he was getting real antsy; he went from the doctrines to the flaws and/or perceived flaws of Catholics.  This, however, is not the shocking thing.  After a while of going back and forth this man — a fully grown one at it — decided to twice post the following picture directed at me.

Z10

Never have I seen such a vicious and vile attack come from an anti-Catholic bigot.  I’ve heard anti-Catholic Protestant fundamentalists tell me I go to get molested by my priest (which is not true at all and they have no way of proving it), or that I should go see him, that my “stench” can be smelled all the way from where they live, or that my rotting “carcass” will be in Hell, but I have never heard one tell me to commit suicide.  From there I had only one more comment for him and then I was done.

You are an evil, wicked man with only blackness in your heart. You do violence to Holy Scripture and attack the Church which put its Canon together. You are not his. You belong to your father the devil (rf. John 8:44). You are completely out of the bark of Saint Peter that is the Church.

A person who tells others to kill themselves is surely in a state of moral sin because in doing so they have no charity.  Charity means love.  Without charity they have no love.  So their soul is in a state of pure emptiness.  It does not matter how many times they say the belong to the Lord.  Even Our Lord Jesus Christ warned, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 7:21).

It only makes it worse since he is not Catholic, but vehemently rejects the Church.  Those who fall into heresy or are born into it but refuse to convert and attack it are doing the work of Satan.  As Saint Cyprian of Carthage said, “He [Satan] has invented heresies and schisms, whereby he might subvert the faith, might corrupt the truth, might divide the unity” (On the Unity of the Church 1:3).  They do violence to Christ’s body the Church, rejecting its authority and hence His own authority, and they relish it.  This is evil at its finest.  The devil was also a rebel who disobeyed God and both the devil and his angels were cast into Hell for it.  So those who disobey the Church also disobey God and are acting as Satan.

Hell is real and I would fear for anybody who is on the path to Hell.  Do not mess with God or His Church.  May they repent and convert lest they burn in eternal hellfire.  This is the price to pay for being a practicing Catholic; people will viciously oppose you from all sides.  The Lord said, “If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you: if they have kept my word, they will keep yours also” (John 15:20).  I have to remind myself to not to act in revenge but to pray for their wellbeing.  As Catholics and Christians we are commanded to imitate the humility of Jesus who “humbled himself, becoming obedient unto death, even to the death” (cf. Philippians 2:8) and in order to save us.  May the harden of heart be freed from their captivity; it is a very liberating experience to experience God in the Sacraments, the liturgical worship and prayer life.

Z10

Leave a Reply

